5 St. Mary’s Players on Victorious Sligo Minor Team

The Sligo Minor Team bridged a 53 year gap to win a Connacht Title for the first time since 1968. Having beaten Leitrim in the semi-final, Sligo overcame Roscommon in the decider on an impressive scoreline of 0-19 to 1-11.

Among the Sligo squad were five St. Mary’s representatives. Ronan O’Hehir, Ronan Niland, Robert O’Kelly-Lynch, Saeedi Tumuheirwe and Max Burns Flynn. Ronan O’Hehir and Robert O’Kelly-Lynch played as the two corner backs in the final, while Ronan Niland was named at centre forward.

The morning after the victory, the five Mary’s men were welcomed back to the club and given a guard of honour at the Saturday Morning Coaching. Coaches, parents and club members came to congratulate them while the kids celebrated their new heroes.

As was said by our club president, Cathal O’Donnell, this is the result of years of hard work by many volunteer coaches since underage football was set up in the club and it is great that all of our current underage players now know that with hard work and dedication they too can become Connacht champions in the future.

All in the club are extremely proud of the 5 lads who have created history and achieved something that very few others in the county have. Well done lads.

The All-Ireland Semi Final vs Meath takes place on the weekend of August 21/22.